Briefly about the University

University "Ukshin Hoti" based in Prizren, was founded by decision no. 01/87 of the Government of the Republic of Kosovo on 09.10.2009 as the second public university in the Republic of Kosovo which started with the first generation of students in the academic year 2009/10, respectively 01.10.2010.

The Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo on 30.05.2013 approved the Statute of the University "Ukshin Hoti" with a seat in Prizren.

The University "Ukshin Hoti" with its six academic units currently offers Bachelor and Master degree studies and by statute the same can organize doctoral studies. In addition to studies in Albanian language of instruction, the University also offers studies in Turkish and Bosnian languages.

The university inherits the experience of the former Pedagogical Higher School, a branch of Pristina, operating since October 1961, later transformed into a Prizren branch of the Faculty of Education, and now into the University "Ukshin Hoti" Prizren.

The city of Prizren, the seat of this university, by law no. 06L / -012 articles 4 item 2 has been proclaimed the Historic Capital of the Republic of Kosovo, which is normally known not only for its rich history but also for its multi-ethnicity and heritage and culture not only in the Republic of Kosovo but also beyond.

The city of Prizren is also the second largest city after Pristina, which according to statistics is the most visited city in the country, lies in the southern part of the Republic of Kosovo, being the closest town to the Republic of Albania for citizens. whose city and the university "Ukshin Hoti" are very attractive and attractive.

University “Ukshin Hoti” Prizren (UPZ) commenced its work on 2010 after decision for Founding issued by the Kosovo Government. The seat of the University is in Prizren, which is one of the most ancient cities in Kosovo. UPZ is the second public university in Kosovo. In 2010 the number of enrolled students was 1700, while in 2020; the number of enrolled students is about 4035 activ students. The University is accredited since 2010. Recently was under the process of accreditation and was re - accredited. Currently the University provides studying in the Bachelor and Master level.

The first level programmes accredited by the KAA are:

  • Faculty of Economics with departments of:
    • Bachelor:
  • Business Administration
  • International Management
    • Master:
  • Accounting and Auditing
  • Business Administration
  • Faculty of Law;
  • Faculty of Computer Science with departments of:
    • Bachelor:
  • Software Design
  • ITT;
    • Master:
  • Computer Science and Communication Technology
  • Faculty of Education (in Albanian, Bosnian and Turkish language) with departments of :
    • Primary School Programme and
    • Pre Primary School Programme
  • Faculty of Philology with departments of:
    • Albanian Language and Literature
    • English Language and Literature
    • German Language

At the same time, within the medium term, UUHP plans to open doctoral study programs. Inpursuit of this objective, UUHP is part of the DIPHDICTKES international project (Development of the PhD Curricula in ICT for Kosovo Education System) under the leadership of two prestigious Universities, Linnaues University (LNU, Sweden) and NTNU (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway).



UPZ is the second public university in Kosovo. In 2010 the number of enrolled students was 1700, while in 2014; the number of enrolled students is about 8000...

Read More



Western Balkan Online Library Platform